Forcefully stop hanging Foreman tasks

After a system crash I recently had the problem that Foreman had several orphaned tasks that could not be stopped from the web interface: Because I planned a Foreman upgrade this was pretty bad as it prevented the pre-upgrade check: # foreman-rake katello:upgrade_check … Checking upgradeability… Checking for running tasks… [ERROR] – There are 8
Continue reading...

Simple REST application with Python and Flask

Currently I’m spending a lot of time on automating complex application scenarios; during training I also starting learning about creating customized REST applications. The result was a tutorial which covers all stages of developing a small “RESTful” application: Concept/Definition Development Tests and documentation But, let’s start with the basics first… Crash course: REST in Peace REST
Continue reading...

System management with Foreman/Katello – Part 1: Introduction and installation

The last couple of years I spent a lot of time in managing Linux systems with Spacewalk and Red Hat Satellite 5. Because the application was superseded by the vendor, I investigated on migrations to the successor. Back in 2008, Spacewalk was published as upstream project to Red Hat Network Satellite. Since then, a lot of development happened thanks to the numerous
Continue reading...

Short tip: Removing orphaned SAN multipath devices under Enterprise Linux

Recently, I had to remove a SAN LUN on a physical Enterprise Linux system. The first step was to alter the multipath service configuration file (/etc/multipath.conf) and make the daemon reload its configuration: # vi /etc/multipath.conf … ESC ZZ # service multipathd reload Afterwards, the device was removed from the multipath topology: # multipath -l
Continue reading...

Monitoring Foreman, Katello and Red Hat Satellite 6

Foreman, Katello and Red Hat Satellite 6 users have multiple possibilities to monitor infrastructure health. Beside the Foreman host, also managed systems and defined software content are worth monitoring. Foreman dashboard Foreman/Katello and Red Hat Satellite offer a dashboard with some widgets that can be used for monitoring hosts and products. The widgets can be ordered and removed.
Continue reading...

Authenticate GitLab against FreeIPA using LDAP

GitLab can utilize LDAP to authenticate against a variety of directory services such as Microsoft Active Directory Domain Services or FreeIPA and Red Hat Identity Management. This post describes configuring and integrating into FreeIPA. By clicking Identity > User Groups > Add within the FreeIPA interface, an assistant for creating new groups is started. Create
Continue reading...

Manage VMware Photon OS containers with Foreman and Red Hat Satellite 6

Photon OS is minimalistic RPM-based Linux distribution which is focussed on running Docker containers. It was optimized for VMware platforms (Workstation, Fusion, vSphere, vCloud Air) – e.g. its Linux kernel offers a caching mechanism optimized for vSphere. Another characteristic is the customized package manager tdnf (Tiny Dandified YUM) which is similar to YUM but has also supports managing OSTree content (git-like versioned kickstartable filesystem content).
Continue reading...

CentOS 7 and the incorrect dist RPM macro

When creating RPM packages recently, I had the effect that package names on CentOS 7 were set incorrectly. For example, a package had the name pinkepank-0.6-1.el7.centos.x86_64.rpm but should have set pinkepank-0.6-1.el7.x86_64.rpm instead. As Enterprise Linux derivates (CentOS, Scientific Linux,…) offer binary compatibility to Red Hat Enterprise Linux, I prefer omitting distribution-specific tags in package names. In the RPM spec
Continue reading...

Short tip: FreeIPA looses global DNS forwarder

Recently I found out that Red Hat Identity Management (IdM) and FreeIPA tend to forgot their global DNS configuration after some upgrades. In my case, the global DNS forwarder configuration was dropped forcing external lookups to fail: $ ipa dnsconfig-show ——————————— Global DNS configuration is empty ——————————— IPA DNS servers: giertz.shittyrobots.loc, jason.shittyrobots.loc $ dig +short
Continue reading...

New project: IcingaBusylightAgent

The last couple of days I have been working on a new project I want to introduce: IcingaBusylightAgent. It all began with a new telephony system in our office. Instead of using physical phones, my colleagues are now using softphones. In addition to this, a gadget called Busylight representing the instant messenger status is mounted
Continue reading...

Hängende Foreman-Aufgaben abbrechen

Nach einem Systemabsturz hatte ich neulich das Problem, dass Foreman über verwaiste Aufgaben verfügte, die sich über die Web-Oberfläche nicht beenden ließen: Da ein Foreman-Upgrade anstand war dies ungünstig, da dies den Preupgrade-Check verhinderte: # foreman-rake katello:upgrade_check … Checking upgradeability… Checking for running tasks… [ERROR] – There are 8 active tasks. Abhilfe schafft es, die
Weiterlesen...

Simple REST-Anwendung mit Python und Flask

Neuerdings widme ich mich verstärkt der Automatisierung von komplexen Programmabläufen und habe mich zu Lernzwecken auch mit der Entwicklung einer eigenen REST-Anwendung beschäftigt. Daraus ist ein kleines Tutorial entstanden, welches alle Stufen der Entwicklung einer kleinen „RESTful“ Anwendung abdeckt: Konzeption/Definition Entwicklung Testen und Dokumentieren Aber zuerst mal zu den Grundlagen… Crashkurs: REST in Peace REST wurde
Weiterlesen...

Systemverwaltung mit Foreman/Katello – Teil 1: Einstieg und Installation

In den letzten Jahren habe ich mich vor allem mit der Verwaltung von Linux-Systemen mit Spacewalk bzw. Red Hat Satellite 5 beschäftigt. Aufgrund der Tatsache, dass letzteres vom Hersteller abgekündigt wurde, habe ich mich intensiv mit Migrationen zum Nachfolgeprodukt beschäftigt. 2008 wurde Spacewalk als Upstream-Projekt zu Red Hat Network Satellite veröffentlicht. Seither hat sich viel
Weiterlesen...

Kurztipp: Entfernen von verwaisten SAN Multipath-Laufwerken unter Enterprise Linux

Neulich galt es, auf einem physischen Enterprise Linux-System eine SAN-LUN zu entfernen. Hierzu wurde die Konfigurationsdatei des Multipath-Dienstes (/etc/multipath.conf) angepasst und der Dienst angewiesen, diese neu einzulesen: # vi /etc/multipath.conf … ESC ZZ # service multipathd reload Danach war das entfernte Laufwerk nicht mehr in der Multipath-Topologie ersichtlich: # multipath -l Nach Entfernung der LUN
Weiterlesen...

Überwachen von Foreman und Katello bzw. Red Hat Satellite 6

Wer Foreman und Katello bzw. Red Hat Satellite 6 einsetzt, hat mehrere Möglichkeiten den Zustand der Infrastruktur zu überwachen. Neben dem Foreman-System selbst sind auch verwaltete Systeme und definierte Software-Inhalte von Primärinteresse. Foreman-Dashboard Foreman/Katello bzw. Red Hat Satellite verfügen über ein Dashboard mit einigen Widgets, welche zur Überwachung der verwalteten Hosts und Produkte verwendet werden
Weiterlesen...

GitLab über LDAP mit FreeIPA authentifizieren

GitLab lässt sich über LDAP mit zahlreichen Verzeichnisdiensten, wie beispielsweise Microsoft Active Directory Domain Services oder auch FreeIPA bzw. Red Hat Identity Management, verbinden. Dieser Artikel beschreibt die Konfiguration und Integration in FreeIPA. Mit Klicks auf Identity > User Groups > Add wird innerhalb der FreeIPA-Oberfläche der Assistent für die Erstellung neuer Gruppen gestartet. Dort
Weiterlesen...

VMware Photon OS Container mit Foreman bzw. Red Hat Satellite 6 steuern

Photon OS ist eine minimalistische, RPM-basierende Linux-Distribution, deren einziger Nutzen das Ausführen von Docker-Containern ist. Es wurde für speziell für VMware Plattformen (Workstation, Fusion, vSphere, vCloud Air) optimiert – so verfügt es beispielsweise über ein für vSphere optimiertes Caching innerhalb des Linux-Kernels. Eine weitere Eigenschaft ist der eigens entwickelte Paket-Manager tdnf (Tiny Dandified YUM), der
Weiterlesen...

CentOS 7 und das inkorrekte dist RPM-Makro

Beim Erstellen von RPM-Paketen hatte ich neulich den Effekt, dass auf CentOS 7 erstellte Pakete (für mich) inkorrekte Paketnamen hatten. Ein Paket trug beispielsweise den Namen pinkepank-0.6-1.el7.centos.x86_64.rpm, sollte aber pinkepank-0.6-1.el7.x86_64.rpm heißen. Da Enterprise Linux-Derivate (CentOS, Scientific Linux,…) zu Red Hat Enterprise Linux binärkompatibel sind, präferiere ich es, keine Distributionsspezifika im Namen zu platzieren. Im RPM Specfile wurden Paketname, -Version
Weiterlesen...

Kurztipp: FreeIPA „vergisst“ globalen DNS-Forwarder

Neulich ist mir aufgefallen, dass Red Hat Identity Management (IdM) bzw. FreeIPA anscheinend nach manchen Upgrades dazu neigen, ihre globale DNS-Konfiguration zu verlieren. In meinem Fall wurde die Konfiguration eines globalen DNS-Forwarders verworfen, weswegen externe Auflösungen nicht mehr korrekt funktionierten: $ ipa dnsconfig-show ——————————— Global DNS configuration is empty ———————————   IPA DNS servers: giertz.shittyrobots.loc,
Weiterlesen...

Neues Projekt: IcingaBusylightAgent

Die letzten Tage habe ich an einem neuen Projekt gearbeitet, welches ich gerne vorstellen möchte: IcingaBusylightAgent. Alles begann mit einer neuen Telefon-Anlage in unserem Büro. Anstatt physischer Endgeräte kommunizieren meine Arbeitskollegen nun mit Softphones. Dazu gehört auch ein sogenanntes Busylight, welches am Monitor oder an der Trennwand angebracht wird und den Instant Messenger-Status anzeigt. Geht
Weiterlesen...